top of page
Search
  • Darren Dash

Kirkus - Sunburn review


"vivid and unrelenting... Dash fully realizes the unnamed monster in all of its grotesque, imposing physicality... the novel offers captivating tension and brutal, gory fun." -- Kirkus Reviews.

That quote comes from a review by Kirkus. Sounds pretty great, huh?!? But, to be honest, it was a VERY mixed review -- the reviewer liked some segments of the book, but was by no means blown away by it overall. That's the first mostly negative review that Sunburn has elicited, but while the bad reviews are always disappointing, this isn't TOO bad -- I've had a lot worse with other books in my time!! I always like to provide links to every review that I come across, the good, the bad and the ugly, so if you want to read the whole review, you can do so here: https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/darren-dash/sunburn-dash/

I debated whether or not I should use the good part of the review on the Amazon pages, to help promote the book. Hollywood movies do that all the time, cherry-picking the positive words and lines out of otherwise terrible reviews. In the end I decided to go for it. It's a bit of a sneaky tactic, but hey, it's a cut-throat world out there, and sometimes you've got to let rip with whatever limited resources are available to you. Besides, Kirkus have given me some other bad reviews in the past, so I figured it's payback time, and I might as well get SOME good use out of them after all these years!!!!! :-)


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Indie Reader's Best Books and review

I was delighted to see Molls Like It Hot get listed as one of Indie Reader's Best Reviewed Books Of December. You can see what other books made the list by clicking on the following link: https://mail

Author notes for The Evil And The Pure - Part Two

As with pretty much all authors, my literary influences are legion. I draw inspiration from all over the place, from things that happen to me or that I see, from movies and TV shows, and of course fro

bottom of page